Yellow, Green, and Glittahhhh

Hi everyone! Today I have some gorgeous new (to me) polishes to show you!

4.30 bottles

So back in 2009 when I was first really getting into the lacquerhead game, OPI released a holiday collection based on the Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland. I saw pics on my fav nail blog, All Lacquered Up, but just sort of skimmed because it seemed like the usual boring “ten kinds of reds” collection. There was a pretty glitter I liked, but at that point I still thought $8 for a nail polish was pricey (ha!). Later, of course, that glitter, Mad As A Hatter (MAAH), would become one of the most sought-after, hard-to-find polishes that many a nail fiend would go crazy over. I remember trying to find a good enough dupe in the years that followed, but nothing really matched it and I wasn’t about to pay $100 on eBay for a bottle. However, about three weeks ago I got an email from Ninja Polish, saying they were having a 40% off sale. Ninja Polish carries brands that are difficult to find in the U.S. like Models Own as well as their own brand and indies, like Cover Band, which made dupes of htf cult favorites, like OPI’s legendary Glamour and MAAH. They still had both those two in stock, which I snatched up within minutes.

4.30 straight up

I paired CAAC with OPI’s AmazON…AmazOff (ughhhh these names are killing me) from the recent Brazil collection, and You’re So Flippy Floppy from their mini Liquid Sand collection. I reeeally wish OPI had made these minis full size – they are so great, and way more interesting than most of the polishes in their recent collections! (I particularly loved I’m Brazil Nuts Over You, which was basically a textured version of my fav, China Glaze’s neon coral Surfin’ For Boys.) I think I only used one coat of AmazON…AmazOFF – if there were any streaks, the glitter covered it up. And what a fantastic glitter it is! I’m so glad I signed up for the Ninja Polish newsletter, y’all – CAAC is disgustingly gorgeous. It’s a combination of fine pink, purple, blue, copper, green, and silver glitter and this is only one coat! It’s super sparkly and gave perfectly even coverage of glitter with one easy swipe, plus the size of the glitter meant I only needed one layer of top coat for a smooth finish. I mean…swoon.

Yassssss

Yassssss

You’re So Flippy Floppy (YSFF) also had an amazing formula – this was only two coats, and there wasn’t any VNL. Like my fav texture polish, Zoya’s Solange, YSFF is such a happy yellow I couldn’t help but love it, although Solange has an additional metallic gold finish that YSFF doesn’t have – it’s just pure yellow sunshine! I am SO SAD there isn’t a full-size bottle available of this! I guess I can conserve it by doing one coat over a yellow creme base in the future, but… :(

4.30 sun curled under

If you’d like to pick up Crazy As A Capper, it’s still available at Ninja Polish, as is the OPI Glamour dupe (which I will be featuring in an upcoming mani). I highly recommend both, but I must admit Crazy As A Capper has a special place in my heart. Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

3 thoughts on “Yellow, Green, and Glittahhhh

  1. Pingback: Playin’ The Blues | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: ILNP Swatch: Kaleidoscope | Fancy Finger Guns
  3. Pingback: Nail Quickies: Yellow and Blue Nails | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

