Playin’ The Blues

Good afternoon, everyone! Today I’ve got a mani using an old favorite, a new favorite, and an old htf that I haven’t used in aaaaages.

China Glaze Electric Beat, Ninja Polish Glamorous, Lynnderella Mademoiselle Violette de Bleu

China Glaze Electric Beat, Ninja Polish Glamorous, Lynnderella Mademoiselle Violette de Bleu

Last post, I wrote about the gorgeousness of Ninja Polish’s Crazy As A Capper, dupe for the legendary OPI Mad As A Hatter. In that same order, I also bought Ninja Polish’s prototype dupe for another highly sought-after OPI polish, the fabulous holo Glamour. This is only a prototype because according to the Ninja Polish site, it has too much holo.

I mean, bless ’em for wanting to get as close to an exact match as possible, but in my book, there’s no such thing as too much holo! Glamorous has a wonderful formula – almost a one-coater! This kind of blue (well, indigo is its own thing, I suppose) isn’t my usual jam – I’m more a brights/aqua-leaning girl, but Glamorous is beyond gorgeous and completely irresistable. Def pick it up if you’re a holo or blue fan!

5.3.15 posed with bottle

I knew I wanted to do an all-blue look, so I pulled out Lynnderella’s Mademoiselle Violette de Bleu (MVDB) since I thought its royal and purple glitters would complement Glamourous’ gorgeous indigo hue, and China Glaze’s Electric Beat for its periwinkle color to set off all of MVDB’s shades. I’ve had my five Lynnderella’s for about four years now – they were my first big polish purchase and they’re lovely, but in the last few years I haven’t used chunky glitters that much.

5.3.15 pose

Application was actually pretty easy – I kind of gobbed on one coat, then carefully moved the glitter pieces around until I was satisfied there weren’t any open areas. It required two layers of top coat and still isn’t COMPLETELY smooth, but that’s what you get when you use a chunky glitter. It really wasn’t that bad, though. MVDB is a stunning mix of royal blue, navy, purple, and indigo hex and square glitters in a lightly tinted blue base. Some of the glitters are holographic, which makes it even more sparkly in the sun!

5.3.15 sun

I tried out the scalloped nail decals I got in my KBShimmer order on my ring finger as an accent, using Glamorous over Electric Beat. I cut the decal in half and was easily able to use both on my nail, which is awesome because now I know I can basically double the number of decals, mwahahahaaaa.

Sorry about my raggedy-ass cuticles, y'all.

Sorry about my raggedy-ass cuticles, y’all.

This is such a fun mani – not too bold but still blingy with the glitter and holo. I foresee a lot more holos and glitter in my future! Thank you for reading, everyone! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

