A-England’s Dragon

This past weekend some friends and I went to the Renaissance Pleasure Faire (lulz) for the second year in a row. I didn’t take any photos because I took so many last year, but I did do another themed mani. When I think of the middle ages, I think of those fairy tales of King Arthur, princesses in castles, and dragons – this last one instantly made me think of the fabulous A-England shade with the same name.

5.7.15 bottles

I haven’t used Dragon in ages, but I love it sooooooo much. It’s from A-England’s second collection, based on the epic story of St. George and the dragon. I really love reading the inspiration behind A-England’s collections, and even the way they write their product descriptions is just so lovely. A-Englands are a bit of a splurge, so I only have two that I got a few years ago, but they’re really amazing polishes – perfect formulas, unique polishes, and every single one is gorgeous. (I currently have my eye on these two from the Briar Rose series.)

See that fabulous golden flash in the bottle?

See that fabulous golden flash in the bottle?

Fittingly, Dragon really evokes the look of a dragon – its rich, mossy base reminds me of dragon scales, and the golden flash makes me think of their golden eyes. The signature A-England scattered holo just bumps the whole creation up to another level. It was really difficult to capture the gold flash and holo of Dragon, but I tried my best. You’ll just have to get your hands on it yourself to really appreciate its true beauty! (A-England can’t ship to the US anymore, but they’re stocked at a bunch of nail suppliers like Llarowe.)

I tried! The gold and holo sparkles are definitely very visible in person.

I tried! The gold and holo sparkles are definitely very visible in person.

Keeping with the dragon theme, I added a light layer of OPI’s Gold Shatter to my middle finger to mimic a cracked dragon egg. I know shatters were pretty much a flash in the pan fad, but I still really like them, I think they’re fun! I just wish my Black Shatter hadn’t dried out so badly, sigh. On my ring, I used two coats of China Glaze’s Medallion, a gold glitter with some scattered holo pieces, to represent the gold fortune dragons are sometimes shown to be protecting, depending on the story.

5.7.15 pose

I liked this mani a lot! I don’t like to do overt visuals when I’m doing themed nails – like stamping Santa hats for Christmas or something – and I think this one went very well with my theme without being too obvious, as well as being absolutely beautiful in the sun while we traipsed around the Ren Faire in flower crowns. Thank you for reading! See you next time – A x

2 thoughts on “A-England’s Dragon

Leave a Reply

