Cirque Holo Polishes

Hi everyone, I hope you’re having a lovely week! I was craving some holographic sparkliness but of course the day after I put this mani on it was cloudy and overcast for almost an entire week. I was fiiiiinally able to take some photos yesterday, so sorry for the week-plus absence, but feast your eyes on these babies:

6.10.15 bottles

I ordered three Cirque holos just before Christmas last year during a sale; I already showed the gorgeous orchid holo, Xochitl, in a previous post, but today I combined the last two in this super blingy mani.

6.10.15 curled around bottle

So we’ve got Panacea, a funky chartreuse holo, and Cerrillos, a vibrant turquoise – both colors I looooove, even when not in deliciously sparkly holo form. Panacea was a little sheer, so I did three thin coats, and Cerrillos was probably good at two but I was painting in low light so I added a third for good measure. These wore super well on me – I had it on for almost an entire week and I only got a little chip on each finger. Not bad! Oh, also, for some reason when I photographed in the direct sunlight (to catch as much holo flare as possible), the base colors didn’t appear as vivid as they are in person. Photos really don’t do these justice, they’re mesmerizing in real life!

6.10.15 diagonal

For my glittery pinkie and thumb, I dabbed a coat of China Glaze’s Techno over Essie’s No Place Like Chrome, a great one-coat metallic silver. Techno is pretty chunky, so I did two thick layers of top coat, which of course meant my thumb chipped almost instantly. Sigh. But I just kept fixing the messed up parts because I liked this mani so much. It definitely didn’t chip off in big chunks like heavy glitters usually do on me, though, so that was a plus.

6.10.15 curled up

On my pointer, I did one coat of No Place Like Chrome and then a layer of top coat. After it was totally dry, I placed one of my Make It Stick tribal decals (although it looks like they don’t do nail decals anymore…?) and painted a thick layer of Cerrillos on the top half and Panacea on the bottom. I was nervous to smooth the decal down too hard, like I usually do, because metallics have a tendency to rip off if you use tape on them, so the one side doesn’t look too great, but the outermost side is pretty crisp. I’ve never used these before because I kept forgetting about them, but I really love the designs.

6.10.15 macro

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did! I’ve got a few simple nail designs like this in mind for my next few manis, and I might even attempt a pictorial tutorial? Hmmm we’ll see how lazy I’m feeling. Let me know in the comments if there’s anything in particular you’d like to see. As always, thank you for reading, and I’ll see you next time! – A x

Leave a Reply

