Nail Quickies: Rose Gold and Teal Racing Stripes

Hello everyone! How’s your (holiday, if you’re in the US) week been going? I’ve had a busy few weeks at work so I treated myself to a some new polishes last weekend, two of which I’m wearing in my mani today!

7.3.15 bottles

I wasn’t too into the China Glaze desert collection – I like the idea behind the theme, but I’m at the point in my crazy huge polish collection where I only want to buy something if it’s unique, and these just ain’t it. My sister scooped up Meet Me In The Mirage, however, and once I put it on I realized it’s actually a little different from my other foil-y rose gold, butter London’s Champers. Champers is a bit more rich in color and has more metallic foil flakes – MMITM is lighter in color and isn’t as heavily foil-y. It went on easily and opaquely in two thin coats.

7.3.15 diagonal

I did want to note that Cecilia is fabulous at self-leveling – I did only one coat because I was, as usual, painting my nails in the half-dark, and later added another layer after realizing it was sheer in some parts. The polish had a streaked texture when it first went on because I was trying to apply only a thin layer, but to my relief a few seconds later each nail looked nice and smooth. So that’s actually pretty cool! For the stripes, I stuck a piece of washi tape diagonally at the tip of each nail and then applied a piece of striping tape above that and painted one thick coat of Meet Me In The Mirage.

7.2.15 pose

This was so easy to do and looks very chic, I love it! What do y’all think? Let me know in the comments! I know I haven’t been posting as much lately, but I’ve got a fun and easy Fourth of July mani coming up soon I think y’all will like. See you then! – A x

Leave a Reply

