Fourth of July Mani

Hi everyone! I hope my fellow Americans had a fun and safe Fourth of July yesterday! I only had time for a quick Independence Day mani, so let’s get to it!

I forgot to include the glitter polishes in this pic, oops! I did include a beer, though, because 'MERICA!

I forgot to include the glitter polishes in this pic, oops! I did include a beer, though, because ‘MERICA!

I knew I wanted to do something with a classic red, white, and blue color scheme, so I pulled a bunch of polishes from my stash. I decided to do a creme vs glitter thing, so first I splattered OPI’s Color So Hot It Berns and Calypso Blue over butter London’s Cotton Buds on my two middle fingers. I’ve talked about it before, but bLs chip SO quickly on me, and Cotton Buds is no different – it literally chipped a few hours after I put it on, oy vey. I do like my splatter for once, though – usually I end up with a big blob on each nail but this time I got a bunch of pretty perfect splatters, so huzzah!

Argh I wish I had gotten a better pic of Ruby Pumps, it's so lovely!

Argh I wish I had gotten a better pic of Ruby Pumps, it’s so lovely!

On my pinkie I used two coats of China Glaze’s Ruby Pumps, one of their most famous colors – and for good reason, it’s a gorgeous red glitter – over one coat of Color So Hot It Berns, and on my pointer I did two coats of Dorothy Who?, also from China Glaze’s “Wizard of Ooh Ahz” collection, over one coat of Calypso Blue. Dorothy Who? is a blue jelly glitter and while it ended up being a little lighter than I wanted for this mani, it’s still such a lovely polish that I’m glad I dug it up since I haven’t worn it in forever.

7.5.15 diagonal

I had a pretty chill Fourth of July – my sister and I were fostering a tiny Chihuaua puppy the previous week and we brought her back to the pet rescue that day where she immediately got adopted, so yay! Then later that night I went to the Cinespia Fourth of July screening of Top Gun, complete with fireworks. It was the most crowded I’ve ever seen it – apparently there were 4,000 people there! There were so many people that half of them had to sit off to the side behind a big mausoleum so they couldn’t even see the movie – we got there on time but even so, we were a little off to the side, too. Craziness. It was a pretty good time, though – we sat next to a fun group of people, our grub was delicious (pulled pork sandwiches, cornbread, s’mores, beer and wine, mmmm), and the fireworks show was actually really great. Then we got home just in time to catch the end of Independence Day and finish off our s’mores, so all in all, a pretty great July 4th!

I hope my fellow Americans had a lovely July 4th, too! Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

3 thoughts on “Fourth of July Mani

  1. Pingback: Fourth of July Mani! | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

