Dreamy Pastel Summer

Hi everyone! How’s your week been going? I’ve been a little behind on posting lately, sorry about that! I’ve got a lovely, dreamy pastel mani today that’s not your usual summer mani:

L-R: China Glaze'Sweet Hook, Essie Bikini So Teeny, Essie No Place Like Chrome

L-R: China Glaze’Sweet Hook, Essie Bikini So Teeny, Essie No Place Like Chrome

For the color scheme, I was inspired by a skirt I saw on Instagram a few days ago – I’m not often in a pastel mood, but that lavender/light blue gradient was so lovely it really caught my eye. Bikini So Teeny (BST) is pretty sheer/streaky, so I did a base coat of two easy coats of Sweet Hook and sort of dabbed a light layer of BST on the tips. Once that was dry, I painted both colors onto a damp cosmetic sponge so they overlapped, then dabbed it on my nail in an up-and-down motion.

8.5.15 with bottle

I wanted to add a little something, so I stamped two designs from my Mo-You plate Hipster plate 08 on my middle fingers and thumb using Essie’s No Place Like Chrome, a great, bright silver. I also added a coat of an old Sephora by OPI silver glitter topper on my pinkie and pointer fingers. Just the right amount of bling!

8.5.15 pose

I love doing out-of-season color combos like this, it’s a nice palate cleanser. I love neons as much as anyone but I can’t wear the same kinds of colors for weeks on end without getting bored. I love these colors together, though – it really reminds me of a hot, dreamy, sun-bleached afternoon.

8.5.15 lavender

Thanks for reading! See y’all next time – A x

One thought on “Dreamy Pastel Summer

  1. Pingback: Nail Quickies: Yellow and Blue Nails | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

