WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Lemon & Cherry

Hi everyone! I hope your week is going well. I’ve been feeling a distinct lack of inspiration lately – you can probably tell from my slacking on posts – so when I stumbled upon this very leisurely (once a week!) Instagram nail art challenge, I decided to do it.

8.7.15 challenge

Today is the first prompt – lemon and cherry! These are probably the two colors I use the least in my nail color arsenal, so it was a bit tricky for me – plus I didn’t want anything that looked too “McDonald’s” or mustard/ketchup-y. I decided to throw a nude polish in to soften the stark red/yellow combo and I even pulled out a technique I haven’t used in almost two years!

Left to right: China Glaze Happy Go Lucky, Glitter Gal Love Bite, Nfu-Oh #62, OPI My Boyfriend Is Buff

Left to right: China Glaze Happy Go Lucky, Glitter Gal Love Bite, Nfu-Oh #62, OPI My Vampire Is Buff

I decided to use a little more effort than my recent manicures, so I created some little triangle decals for this look:

Sorry my skin looks hella busted, the sunlight was really harsh.

Sorry my skin looks hella busted, the sunlight was really harsh.

A quick set-by-step of this decal DIY: first, I painted a few coats of each color on some plastic wrap (I think this was three thin coats of each) then topped them with a quick-dry topcoat. When that was dry, I carefully peeled each color off the plastic wrap and started cutting the dried polish into little triangles with some cuticle scissors I have. I arranged the triangles on my nails over the dried base color, pressed them down lightly to sort of “attach” them to my nail, then floated a layer of top coat over the top to seal everything in.

Also please forgive the little cut on my pointer!

Also please forgive the little cut on my pointer!

This was the first time I’d used Love Bite, and I looooooove it! I’m not usually a red nails person, but add some holographic sparkle to anything and I’m a fan! I thought it would be cool to mix up the different kinds of holographic finish – Love Bite is more scattered, so for the nude I used Nfu-Oh’s #62 (unfortunately now discontinued). #62 has a very intense, super linear holo – no sparkles here, just smooth particles for a blinding rainbow! I took a macro to try to show the difference in finish:

8.7.15 macro

I’m not a huge fan of yellow/red but I think this looks pretty okay. What do you think? Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading, see you soon – A x

P.S. Cirque Colors is having a mini sale – they’re clearing out some older polishes to make room for new colors, so pop over and see if they have anything you like! It’s such a good deal, considering these are usually THIRTEEN DOLLARS each! I also scooped a few up, oops :)

4 thoughts on “WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Lemon & Cherry

  1. Pingback: WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Magenta & Navy | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Mint & Lilac | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

