WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Magenta & Navy

Hi everyone – so sorry, this post was supposed to go up two weeks ago, I totally thought it was up already! I’ll be posting a lot this week because I’ve forgotten to put up the last two weeks’ worth of posts, sorry about that!

Today’s post is the second prompt on the WNAC color combo challenge:

ILNP Indie Go, China Glaze Beach Cruise-R

ILNP Indie Go, China Glaze Beach Cruise-R

I wanted to do something simple and was inspired by this JINsoon Fall 2014 look I saw on All Lacquered Up. I didn’t set out to do another holo look after using them in the first week’s challenge, but I really liked the way these two looked together, so eh, whatevs. I started with a base color of China Glaze’s Beach Cruise-R (wtf is up with the “-R”?), sealed it with top coat, and wore it on its own for a day to make sure it was totally dry/hardy before the next step.

8.26.15 diagonal

Then I painted on one thick layer of Indie-Go-Go and quickly used my smallest dotting tool to draw through the polish in a wavy line. On a few of my nails I didn’t have a light enough touch and the dotting tool scraped up Beach Cruise-R, but I used a striping brush to add color back and fix it.

Here's a weird, Spider-Man-like photo of my hand against the stucco wall outside.

Here’s a weird, Spider-Man-like photo of my hand against the stucco wall outside.

I ended up really liking this even though it def didn’t look as good as the original JINsoon design. And you can’t see it very well in photos for some reason, but Indie-Go-Go is sooo sparkly and holo-y, mmmm, I love it. I’m glad I scooped it up during her last sale, it’ll be so chic for SoCal fall where the temp might drop a little but it’s still always sunny out.

8.26.14 around bottle

What did you think of my attempt at JINsoon’s look? Would you try this design out? Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading – I’ll see you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

