Cactus Nails for Kacey Musgraves!

Hi everyone, how’s your week been going? I am having a tough one – I took Tuesday off for my birthday and had a lovely day, but for some reason it’s made the rest of the week just drag ughhhh. But last Friday I got to go to the Kacey Musgraves concert at the Wiltern here in LA and it was so great! I didn’t get the best photos, but I gotta say, my nails were pretty on point – I think Kacey would approve!

635722083485982187-1811200890_tumblr_nproce8yVw1uy5yfdo1_540

Kacey Musgraves is known for her love of retro country with some added glitter and neon flair – so she’ll wear authentic cowboy boots but add bulbs so they light up, or have her band wear suits with bolo ties, but they’ll be pink and have rhinestone lapels. I saw her Crossroads performance with Katy Perry a few months ago and she had these great neon cacti as part of her set decor, so that’s where the inspiration of these nails came from. I decided to do a pink/green theme because it felt sufficiently fun and girly to suit Kacey’s style.

Yes, that is a tiny cowboy hat that I bought at Joann's just to pose with these bottles.

Yes, that is a tiny cowboy hat that I bought at Joann’s just to pose with these bottles.

After painting on two coats of You Drive Me Coconuts, my fav neon pink, I used my smallest dotting tool to make a bunch of little upright lines spaced out, then went back to make curved arms coming out like saguaro cactus. I was not totally perfect in my execution, but as the first time attempting a freehand cactus pattern, I feel like it came out pretty good!

Sorry about the cut on my ring finger!

Sorry about the cut on my ring finger!

Shockingly, I somehow actually did a better job on my right hand.

P.S. It's really difficult to pose while taking photos with your non-dominant hand, as you might notice based on how awkward this photo is!

P.S. It’s really difficult to pose while taking photos with your non-dominant hand, as you might notice based on how awkward this photo is!

On my thumb and ring fingers, I topped one coat of Wild Cactus with two coats of Holiday Splendor. I haven’t worn Holiday Splendor in foreverrrr and man, I forgot how gorgeous it is! So sparkly and it’s the prettiest jewel-toned emerald. So great.

The funny thing is, I did my cacti in the opposite direction on each hand. That's what happens when you're distracted by tiny house shows on HGTV while doing your nails.

The funny thing is, I did my cacti in the opposite direction on each hand. That’s what happens when you’re distracted by tiny house shows on HGTV while doing your nails.

Kacey’s show – aptly named the Country & Western Rhinestone Revue – was great! It was hot as balls at the Wiltern because there’s no AC and it was in the 90s, but even the heat couldn’t get me down. She did a few covers – a great, fun version of These Boots Were Made For Walkin’ where she pranced around in light-up boots and played tambourine as the song of the night – and No Scrubs, which was freaking awesome and got my sister and I way too excited, ha. At one point the band left and Kacey performed alone on stage, singing Merry Go Round with her acoustic guitar – she sounded perfect, and it was amazing hearing the entire venue sing along exactly. (Actually, the audience sang along well to basically every song, even the ones from her new album, which made up the majority of her set list. I know I personally am obsessed with it and knew all the words after a few listenings!) Another great moment was when she had everyone quiet down so as not to scare the newest member of the band that she brought out – a puppy she’d just adopted the day before in Washington (which I already knew because I’m a creep and follow her Instagram). Maybe my favorite performance was when they did an extended version of Die Fun, my favorite from the new album (tied with Dimestore Cowgirl) – it was gorgeous, and I really hope they release it for purchase one day because I can’t find any videos of it online but it was so great!

SO SPARKLY! via Mashable

SO SPARKLY!
via Mashable

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

