Halloween Mani #2: Ombre Bats

Hi everyone! How’s your weekend been? Mine was pleasantly very chill – it gave me time to reorganize things and I even created a Pinterest page just for Fancy Finger Guns! If you click on the Pinterest icon on the right-hand side, you’ll be taken to the new account, which features my manicures separated onto different boards (holiday nail art, neons, textures, etc.) as well as other boards like color inspiration (I can’t be the only one who goes to Pinterest for mani color ideas, can I?) and even boards featuring swatches of colors I own by brand! It’s going to take some time, but I’m hoping to pin swatches of every polish I own, so you can virtually scroll through my entire stash. Kinda cool, huh? It’s also going to help immensely when I’m about to pick up a polish but can’t remember if I own something similar. I’m attempting to pin them in rainbow order, but usually when I’m reorganizing the stash (I do that by color, too), I forget a few colors that were in the living room or still in my lightbox, so we’ll see how that goes ha! Now that’s out of the way, let’s get into my second Halloween mani of the season:

From Left: China Glaze Recycle, Release, Tart-Y For The Party, Sweet Hook, Essie Sittin' Pretty

From Left: China Glaze Recycle, Release, Tart-Y For The Party, Sweet Hook, Essie Sittin’ Pretty

I haven’t done a simple ombre mani in forever, and it took a few tries before I got this one right (I even attempted to mix a few colors, but that went badly!), but I loooove the result! I also learned that I don’t have as many purples as I thought, and most of them aren’t the same kind of shades, but luckily I had China Glaze’s Release, a purpley-gray, which brought this whole look together.

10.04.15 around bottle Fancy Finger Guns

Once I had my polish on, I used my extra-pointy nail art tweezers to apply the black bat decals I’d gotten last year from Make It Stick Designs on etsy. I mixed up the sizes, but the differences are so small you can barely tell. I did cut one in half to make it so two fit on my pinkie without looking squished.

10.04.15 arched Fancy Finger Guns

Even after a layer of top coat, I could still feel the edges of the decals, which annoyed me a little on my pointer because they felt so sharp but it turned out to be super helpful because it was easy to pick them off with my tweezers before removing the polish below. But if you’re looking for an easy Halloween look, I would definitely recommend these bat decals – a lot come in one order, they’re super easy to use, and you can throw them over basically any color and it would still look fun an Halloween-y. I might try them over neon pastels next year.

Sorry my cuticles look ROUGH in this pic. Also for the cut on my middle finger in all these pics.

Sorry my cuticles look ROUGH in this pic. Also for the cut on my middle finger in all these pics.

The weather has turned chilly and cloudy here and I couldn’t be more excited – perfect October weather, and it’s totally inspiring new spooky manicure designs. I hope you’re getting into the spirit too, because I’ve got 11 more looks to share with you! Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

