Halloween Mani #4: Splatter

I’ve mentioned before that I have such a love/hate relationship with splatter manis – they look SO cool and fun when done well, but I have a lot of trouble getting the kind of splatter I want on the nail (often I end up with just a blob, not that cool splatter shape). But I wanted to do something fun and easy with traditional Halloween colors, so a-splattering I went!

10.12.15 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

I’ve actually kind of forgotten about poor old Orange You Hot? in the years since I bought it. I have almost that entire collection (China Glaze’s 2012 summer neons), and this color is fun, although a bit sheer (not totally opaque at 3 coats), but I didn’t mind because I was going to be splattering over it, anyway. I decided to use all bright versions of the traditional Halloween colors, so after my base of Orange You Hot? I splattered with Morgan Taylor’s Anime-zing Color!, an almost-neon true purple, and Orly’s Fresh, a bright yellow-toned green (aka my favorite).

10.12.15 Fancy Finger Guns around

I know I just used Zoya PixieDust polishes in my last mani, but I just couldn’t resist adding some accent nails using Dahlia – it’s a gorgeous almost-black with bright silver sparkle, and gave just that right amount of pop to the mani, I think. I’ll never get over the fact that Zoya didn’t make PixieDusts in neon or other fun colors like aqua – I love the formula and sparkle of them, and wish they hadn’t stopped production. Sigh.

I lightened this photo up a bit so you can see what Anime-zing Color looks like more accurately.

I lightened this photo up a bit so you can see what Anime-zing Color looks like more accurately.

This weekend I went to a showing of Hocus Pocus at Disney’s El Capitan Theatre in Hollywood. The El Capitan is pricey – general admission tix are $16 and the various levels of VIP go from $20-$30 – but luckily we found cheaper prices at Goldstar.com. Either way, I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see one of my favorite movies in such a gorgeous venue. I’ve been to the El Capitan once before, to see Tron a few years ago, but I didn’t really remember much about it because we got there late and had to just hustle into our seats. This time, we got there the recommended 45 minutes early and were delighted when we finally got inside – not only is the restored 1920s theater beautiful on its own, but it was decorated for Halloween!

In the half hour leading up to the show, an organist performed onstage using an organ from the 1920s, one of five in the world. He played some classics with “spooky” titles like “Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered,” “Ding Dong, the Witch Is Dead,” and “Witchcraft,” as well as a slew of Disney songs like “Bibbity, Bobbity, Boo,” “Beauty and the Beast,” “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious,” “When You Wish Upon A Star,” and my favorite, “Grim Grinning Ghosts” (aka the Haunted Mansion ride music!). When it was time for the movie to start, he turned around and gave a wave, which is how I saw that he was wearing a Mickey Mouse t-shirt under his blazer (adorable!), and then played one last number while the organ sank down below the stage. It was really cool, and honestly the price of admission was worth that alone.

10.12.15 Fancy Finger Guns El Cap organist

There were two trailers before the movie started (for Disney animated movies Zootopia and The Nice Dinosaur, which looked like it would make me cry, freaking Pixar!) but they were pretty short and then the movie started! I don’t remember seeing Hocus Pocus in theaters when I was a kid, so it was really fun to see it on the big screen now! The theater was probably only half full, and it was a decent mix of adults my age and parents with younger kids, but happily none of the kids were a distraction and it was really cool to see HP with a big crowd. After the movie, we went down to the “basement,” where they had photos, props, and other little tidbits on display from the three movies the El Capitan would be showing for their Halloween line-up – Hocus Pocus, The Nightmare Before Christmas, and The Black Cauldron. I don’t really remember The Black Cauldron, but I love the other two movies, so I was delighted to see not only the Sanderson sisters’ costumes and cauldron, but also boooooook!, plus a car and the City Hall building from Nightmare.

If you don’t want to watch a movie, I saw that they do give tours where they talk about the history of the theater, which sounds pretty awesome, too. If you’re any kind of Disney lover, I think the El Capitan is a total must-see. Thanks for reading, everyone! See you next time – A x

4 thoughts on “Halloween Mani #4: Splatter

  1. Oh, I love the splatter and the colors you used! So fun. And I’m with you, I’ll never be over the end of Zoya PixieDusts. :'( They definitely are my favorites.

    The theater looks beautiful — though we have a similar situation with the organist at the second-run theater in Richmond, who plays the Wurlitzer before the first Saturday evening show. Stop adding to my list of things to see next time I go to L.A., woman!

    P.S. I loved “The Black Cauldron” as a kid but I didn’t get to see until well after I had read all five of the Chronicles of Prydain books by Lloyd Alexander. The animators made the oracular pig absolutely PRECIOUS. I loved her.

    • Aw, thank you! Also: ugh RIP 4eva, PixieDusts, you will be missed!

      I think maybe I saw “The Black Cauldron” as a kid, but I don’t remember it at all. I should probably check it out one of these days!

    • The El Capitan is really gorgeous, and so fun! I also saw “The Nightmare Before Christmas” there later in the month, and the organist was playing songs from “Phantom” while wearing a cape! They decorated so cute, too – they really get into the holiday spirit!

Leave a Reply

