Halloween Mani #11 – Water-Spotted Gradient!

Hi everyone! I’m chugging along with my Halloween manis, and this might be one of my favorites yet!

10.28.15 waterspot bottlesJPG

First, I put some of my latex stuff all around each nail for easy clean up, then I did the gradient – after two coats of Cotton Buds was dry, I did a gradient with CB and Arizona over top each of them, with Arizona at the top.

10.28.15 waterspot around bottle

I gave that about ten minutes to dry, then did the water spotting. So there are way better tutorials elsewhere, but the basic rundown is: I filled a Solo cup with lukewarm water, added one drop of Black On Black, and when it spread out I sprayed a little tester perfume spritzer in the middle so the polish got cool, weird spots and swirls, then lowered my nail into the polish and swirled away the excess with a Q-tip. After pulling my nail out of the water, I removed the latex (which meant I barely had to do any clean up – thank Yeezus someone thought that up!) and let it dry for a few minutes before adding a layer of top coat.

I was annoyed by how much the black almost completely covered my pointer finger, but now I kinda like how different each nail's coverage is.

I was annoyed by how much the black almost completely covered my pointer finger, but now I kinda like how different each nail’s coverage is.

This is a really fun look, but man, I need to find another way to do it – spraying that perfume makes the whole area smell SO strongly for a full day after, but I’ve tried it before using just alcohol and it didn’t do anything. Hmmmm must research.

Eeeeee only two manis left! They’re also a bit more work than my last few, so wish me luck! Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

One thought on “Halloween Mani #11 – Water-Spotted Gradient!

  1. Pingback: June Nail Art Challenge #7: Beach! | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

