Halloween Mani #12 – Graveyard At Dusk!

Here we are – sorry – once again, my photos wouldn’t download, so you’re getting a double Halloween post today! Unfortunately, I’m not super in love with this mani – it didn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped, but at least I know what not to do next time! So without further adieu:

OPI Funkey Dunkey, Sinful Colors Black On Black, OPI A Roll in The Hauge

OPI Funkey Dunkey, Sinful Colors Black On Black, OPI A Roll in The Hauge

I had a few issues with this mani – I should’ve made the orange part go higher up, so the graveyard “shadows” were more visible; I should’ve used a darker purple at the top instead of black again; and most importantly, I should’ve paid more attention and kept my sponge damp so I didn’t get all these tiny pieces that got stuck and made my polish bumpy. :( I don’t even think the gradients themselves are all that great – on my ring, the colors just look like horizontal stripes. Sighhhhhhhh basically everything went wrong with this look, but in spite of the flaws being super glaring to me, I still kinda like it for some reason.

10.31.15 graveyard bottle

The one good thing was the quality of the decals from What’s Up Nails. I seriously love them – I’ve already used the drip decals and had a great experience, but these graveyard ones really impressed me because the design is pretty intricate but still came out clear and crisp after I’d painted over it. They had a 20% off deal a few weeks ago, which is when I scooped up these and the drip decals, plus a few others, and now I can’t wait to try them all out! (Although the prices are actually really great even without a discount.)

10.31.15 graveyard diagonal

Although I wish I could’ve change the colors slightly, I do like the general idea of the color scheme I went for – I think dusk is a very spooky time of the day, when you can actually see the last bits of sunlight slipping away by the second, and I loved the idea of a graveyard right before total darkness sets in and the spirits start to come out. Mwahahahaha!

My skin is super blown-out because I was trying to show the colors of the mani better.

My skin is super blown-out because I was trying to show the colors of the mani better.

Thanks for reading! Sorry this one didn’t come out so hot, but my official Halloween mani is going to be super fun, and I hope you enjoy it, too! See you then – A x

Leave a Reply

