Holiday Mani #5: Tropical Holiday

Hi everyone! Apologies – I’m a few blog posts behind because I thought I had put them up already, so I’ll have a few in a row the next few days. As for today’s post, this is a semi mani fail – it’s not terrible, but it definitely didn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped, so I’m apologizing in advance! I do really love this color scheme, though:

China Glaze Surfin' For Boys, Cults Nails Deal With It, OPI My Vampire Is Buff

China Glaze Surfin’ For Boys, Cults Nails Deal With It, OPI My Vampire Is Buff

I wanted to do something that was sort of like those “Christmas sweater” nails that are so popular this time of year. I actually did some two years ago, when I was just starting my blog, but I was so not feeling up for attempting stamping, so I used decals this time. The snowflakes and deer are from What’s Up Nails, my newest fav, and the chevrons are from some place on eBay that I can’t remember because they’re a few years old and I just found them, whoops.

12.15.15 Fancy Finger Guns curled

So I didn’t love these decals like the rest of mine from What’s Up Nails – they didn’t stick very well to my nails, and because they’ve got such tiny details, the not-sticking thing meant they didn’t come out perfectly crisp. You’ll see what I mean in the macros below. It’s not the worst case I’ve ever seen, but it just kinda annoyed me – the bottom of the big snowflake was all blobbed (unfortunately, I think you can see it better in my regular pics than the macro) and the deer’s antlers had way more detail on the sticker, but here I had to move polish with my tiniest dotting tool to make it look like two antlers instead of a just a blob of polish.

I also somehow managed to mess up the dots on my pinkie – on my thumb they’re perfectly fine, but my pinkie…I honestly don’t even know what happened. Plus, when I added topcoat on my pointer, Surfin’ For Boys bled and streaked coral all over the rest of the nail. Sigh. Overall these were not my favorite nails by a long shot, but I love the color combo! I wanted to do something that was similar Christmas colors but a little off – so originally I was going to do a more orangey-red and lime green with the cream (instead of traditional true red, hunter green, and white), but I realized I didn’t really have an orange-y red, so I decided to just go straight neon! I think the coral and acid green look really cool with the cream, which tones them down a bit so it’s not too stark, but still allows the bright colors to pop! It’s like a tropical version of traditional holiday, which is something I’m very used to, being from Florida – things like palm trees decorated with ornaments and flamingos with Santa hats are very popular there!

12.15.15 Fancy Finger Guns diagonal

So this was a bit of a let down, but I’ve got a two more holiday manis that should make up for it! Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

One thought on “Holiday Mani #5: Tropical Holiday

  1. Pingback: May Nail Art Challenge #4: Coral! | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

