Holiday Mani #6: Christmas Color Block

Hi everyone! This mani is really simple but very fun, and definitely got me a ton of compliments.

From left: ILNP's A Fresh Evergreen, Nox Twilight's Disco Darling, Sally Hansen's Celeb City, China Glaze's Just Be-Claws

From left: ILNP’s A Fresh Evergreen, Nox Twilight’s Disco Darling, Sally Hansen’s Celeb City, China Glaze’s Just Be-Claws

I started off with a base of Celeb City, one of my favorite silvers which just so happens to be cheap as hell, then when that dried I sponged on a layer of Disco Darling. DD is from a brand called Nox Twilight, which I found out about 5 years ago from the blog Lacquerized which I used to love (and is now sadly defunct). She used a bunch of these polishes and even though they’re a Twilight (yes, those terrible books) beauty brand, I really liked a few of the shades and loved how cool the bottles looked. I found them online just as they were doing a sale, so I scooped up a few. Oddly, for being a Twilight brand, the names of these polishes have nothing to do with the books – for example, the colors I got were Disco Darling, Citrus, and Poseidon. Very weird. Anyway, Poseidon was a brilliant cyan but faded to gray within a few months of me receiving it (!) and Citrus was a nice coral with gold shimmer but not really my jam, so I gave it away – Disco Darling is the only one I have left, and it’s definitely the best by far. It’s a pretty opaque glitter, so you can get full coverage in 3 coats, but I like to layer it over silver to preserve my bottle, which is getting thick and is more than halfway done. :( Nox Twilight doesn’t make these anymore, but I think China Glaze’s Glistening Snow is pretty similar, if you like how this looks (of course you do, it’s gorgeous)!

I don’t know why it took me so long but sponging on glitter really is the way to go – like I said, my Disco Darling is getting pretty thick, but when you use a sponge to apply glitter polish, the sponge sucks up most of the polish base, leaving you with just the glitter so you don’t have that gross thick feeling of 3 layers of lumpy glitter polish. I put one thick but small swipe of DD on my sponge per nail and it covered wonderfully. Once my top coat was completely dry, I stuck a piece of Scotch tape to my palm a few times to make it less sticky (so it doesn’t pull up the polish underneath when I take it off), then cut it into small, uniform sections. I applied each at a diagonal in the middle of my nail, then painted on A Fresh Evergreen above the tape and Just Be-Claws below.

12.24.15 Fancy Finger Guns around bottle

As I’ve said many times before, I am not a red person, but there’s just something about Just Be-Claws – I think because it’s a nice cherry red, which has a bit of a pink undertone, plus the foil formula makes it look fun without being too “holiday.” Very weird that I’m so into a red! A Fresh Evergreen is just ridiculous amazing – it’s not quite dark enough to actually be evergreen, but it’s a little too deep to be a kelly green, either, so it’s pretty unique in my collection, and I just love the color. The holo effect isn’t my favorite – ILNP holos tend to be a little more scattered then I prefer – but it does look really pretty in the sun. I couldn’t capture it at all in my lightbox, though, but I didn’t have time to get an outdoor shot, sorry about that!

I just noticed as I was posting these that my cleanup job was terrible and my cuticles look busted - sorry! I was trying to bust out some manis in a hurry, so this isn't one of my cleanest.

I just noticed as I was posting these that my cleanup job was terrible and my cuticles look busted – sorry! I was trying to bust out some manis in a hurry, so this isn’t one of my cleanest.

I really love each of the colors I used for this, and particularly enjoy how it looks with all the different textures – glitter, foil, and holo. Very fun, and I hope you liked it, too! Thanks for reading, I’ll see you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

