A Little Glitter to Bling In The New Year

Hello, lovely readers! I’ve got a subtle look for my first official Fancy Finger Guns mani of the year, using one of my old favorites.

My bottle of Frisky has been used in a lot of splatter manis, hence the polish all over the bottle!

My bottle of Frisky has been used in a lot of splatter manis, hence the polish all over the bottle!

I can’t believe I’ve only used Frisky only once before on this blog, since it’s one of my very favorite polishes. Frisky was part of a mini collection from Orly in 2011 (!) called Happy Go Lucky, and I own three of the four polishes in that collection – Frisky, Fresh, and Frolic (although Frolic sadly has faded at time to a weird pinkish hue) – and I love them. Orly is probably the polish brand I have the least amount of, but they’re really great formulas and wear really well on me, I should get more! (Jk, the last thing I need is more nail polish.)

I apologize for the weird skin thing on my pointer finger!  My cuticles are going crazy lately.

I apologize for the weird skin thing on my pointer finger! My cuticles are going crazy lately.

Anyway, Frisky is one of my favorite polishes ever. The formula is wonderful – almost opaque in one coat and it looks like it might dry weird but it self-levels like a dream – and I love the hue, bright sky blue with just the tiniest hint of green, but not enough to call it aqua. So pretty!

1.5.16 Fancy Finger Guns diagonal

I used some French tip nail decals sideways so they made a curve around the outside of my nails, and then put a little blob of Jewel Tone on a cosmetic sponge and dabbed it on. Jewel Tone is an LA Colors polish, and honestly I don’t even remember buying this shade – I must’ve had it for ages, though, so I assume it’s from when I first started collecting nail polish about six years ago. It’s a fun mix of fine purple, teal, and pink glitters, but it’s not very opaque – putting it on the sponge helped suck up excess clear polish base, but even so you can see a few areas aren’t totally covered by glitter on my nails.

1.5.16 Fancy Finger Guns with bottle

I like this a lot – pretty subtle, but really fun when the light hits the glitter. It’s supposed to rain all this week, so I’ll probably have a rain-inspired mani up for you in a few days, yayyy. Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

