Berry and Gold Textures

I’ve said this many times before on this blog, but I love playing with textures. I landed on this color scheme by accident, but I really love the outcome.

1.11.15 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

Cherry Cherry Bang Bang (CCBB) is a polish I scooped up after seeing it on my friend Rach’s blog. It’s not my usual jam, but I love it – it definitely takes a full three coats because it’s a little streaky and it takes a while to dry, but it’s such a lovely, rich berry that it’s worth the extra effort. I originally paired this with a coral, but I forgot that CCBB dried a little darker than in the bottle, so that combo didn’t look great and I switched it out for shimmering gold.

Guys, I am SO sorry for my busted cuticles in these photos. I didn't see how bad they were until my polish was already off.

Guys, I am SO sorry for my busted cuticles in these photos. I didn’t see how bad they were until my polish was already off.

Love.Angel.Music.Baby (L.A.M.B) is from the OPI/Gwen Stefani collab from a year or so ago, and while most of the colors were pretty boring, I looooved this one as soon as I saw it in person. It’s a champagne-y leaning gold shimmer with a matte (“satin,” according to OPI) finish that makes it way more interesting than this shade would normally be. It’s fairly opaque – barely requiring two coats – and like any matte, dries quickly, making it the ideal polish to throw on in a hurry. I love pairing it with deeper hues – something about the combo of shimmery, matte champagne and rich jewel tones looks so amazing together to me.

This is the most accurate representation of how CCBB looks.

This is the most accurate representation of how CCBB looks.

I used some old decals I found on eBay a few years ago for the design on my middle finger and a brand-new score as the glitter – Deborah Lippmann’s Boom Boom Pow. This was a major score, y’all – DLs retail for $20 each, but I found this one for $5 at TJ Maxx. Yassssssssss! It supposedly has 24 karat gold in it, but it looks to my eye like a fairly normal sheer gold hex glitter topper – but, you know, it’s a pricey name brand in a fancy bottle, so I love it. I did two coats on my middle finger so the gold dust isn’t as sheer as it is in one coat (which I did on my ring, but you can’t really tell because it’s layered over another gold). I love my ring the most in this mani, with the contrast between the matte L.A.M.B., the glittery Boom Boom Pow, and the glossy CCBB. So pretty!

Seriously, this bottle just looks so classy.

Seriously, this bottle just looks so classy.

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

