Green and Magenta Moroccan-Inspired

Hello there! Sorry for the delay in posting – I thought this had gone up already! Today I’ve got a really great color combo that I absolutely love.

1.21.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

I’ve used Color Club’s Right On before on this blog, and it became such a favorite after I used it that it’s been on my toes almost the entire time since. I just love this color – it doesn’t look like anything out of ordinary in photos, but it’s so bright and saturated and FUN that I can’t help but want to reach for it whenever I don’t know what to do to my nails. I love the color combo of hot pink or purple and green, so I paired it with First Timer, which I remembered being little softer for some reason (probably because it looks a little muted in the bottle), but it’s a bright, spring-y green that I think looks fantastic with Right On.

1.21.16 Fancy Finger Guns curled under

I am still loving my What’s Up Nails decals that I got on sale during Black Friday – I got five or six different ones, and these might be my favorite. I realized after I painted over it that I should’ve had the design going off my nail and not stopped it right at my tip – it made the tips just silver, which looks weird, but at least I learned for next time! I wanted a base color that popped under the magenta and green, so I used one coat of No Place Like Chrome. If you need some metallics, these Essie “Mirror Finish” polishes are great – I also have Good As Gold and Copper Penny (which is actually a lovely rose-gold), and they’re all opaque and reflective as hell. However, when you’re going to peel a decal off these kind of polishes, you might have some issues – even with a fully dried layer of top coat on NPLC, it still pulled up a bit when I took the first decal off. Luckily, I was able to smooth the polish back into place and sort of re-stick it down with top coat.

My nails were a little longer here - I attempted to grow them out, but it annoyed me too much, but I filed them down a little TOO much so now I"m trying to get them back to a nice length. Whoops!

My nails were a little longer here – I attempted to grow them out, but it annoyed me too much, but I filed them down a little TOO much so now I”m trying to get them back to a nice length. Whoops!

I’ve had Urban Outfitter’s Sea Dust for a looooooooong time but I don’t think I’ve ever featured it before. It’s a dupe for Deborah Lippmann’s Mermaid’s Dream at a much cheaper price point – UO polishes are usually 2 for $8, and DLs retail for about $20 each. I only used one coat over First Timer – it’s pretty opaque, or it seemed so over a similarly colored base, anyway! It’s a really lovely polish – fine sea foam glitter with slightly larger aqua glitter pieces sprinkled throughout. Very pretty and definitely very mermaid-y! I thought it was a nice accent color to go with First Timer and Right On.

It doesn't look like much in photos, but Sea Dust is really pretty!

It doesn’t look like much in photos, but Sea Dust is really pretty!

Thanks for reading! I’ll try to have one of two more posts up before February. See you next time – A x

3 thoughts on “Green and Magenta Moroccan-Inspired

  1. Pingback: Summery Pink and Green | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

