Springy Nails

Due to moving, I haven’t had my nails painted in AGES – I threw on Funky Fingers’ Sand and Stilettos, a present from my buddy Rach, for Vegas at the start of our road trip, but I didn’t want to take anything out once it was packed, so I endured chipped nails for a week before I was able to remove them entirely and then I was just too busy to put anything else on. But this week, inspired by the lovely spring happening in Nashville (my first spring, sort of! I have lived in Florida and California, neither of which have actual seasons, so seeing pretty flowering trees and soft new grass everywhere is kind of blowing my mind), I did a lovely pastel mani.

4.1.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

I had no pastel pink polish (not a fan of baby pinks at ALL), but luckily my Walmart had Sally Hansen’s Hard-Core Party for 99 cents. The formula was predictably terrible – very streaky and sheer, even at 3 coats – but it was so cheap, I’ll keep it in case I have pastel mani needs in the future. Luckily, all the other polishes were an easy 2 coats.

4.1.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles curled

I also attempted a new nail art technique for this mani – splattering with a toothbrush. I realized later that most people do this with acrylic paint, which is probably why mine was kind of a fail. I tried to thin the polish (Essie’s No Place Like Chrome, a super reflective silver) with a little water before dipping my toothbrush in it, but it still didn’t do more than teeny tiny flecks when I ran my thumbnail across the bristles. Oh well. I do like the effect, it’s just kind of hard to see in photos since it was so subtle.

4.1.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles diagonal

As I said, I haven’t done my nails in forever, but apparently my blue obsession is still going strong. I’ve gotten very into green with my decorating – my new bedroom is evolving into lots of mint, kelly green, and aqua – but I ended up doing a full mani of just OPI’s Gelato On My Mind after this mani chipped because UGH LOOK AT IT. It’s such a perfect pale robin’s egg blue and shockingly has a great formula for a pastel. Man, I love it so much.

4.1.16 Fancy Finger Guns around bottle

Ahhhhh it was so nice to have pretty nails again! I need to build my new lightbox, but I’ve got other stuff going on so my next few photos might just be outside like these until then, so I can get back onto a regular posting schedule. I still need to unravel all my polishes, though, so we shall see how that goes, ha. Thanks for reading! See ya next time – A x

Leave a Reply

