Tricky Green

Hello, friends! I hope you’ve had a great week as it winds down today. I, for one, am very excited for the weekend – there’s something called the Cherry Blossom Festival happening in downtown Nashville this weekend, among other things I’m excited to try out this weekend in my new city. I will report back next week with deets! Today I’ve got some simple but fun nails to show you, starring a polish that was a bitch and a half to photograph.

4.8.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

So. China Glaze’s Treble Maker. I’ve used it once before on this blog as an accent color, but this was the first time I’ve worn it as a full mani. I love the color – it’s not often you see a neon(wish) green leaning blue instead of yellow. I mean, I love me a yellow-toned green (if you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, you already know that), but it’s cool to see a bright blue-toned hue. This polish isn’t really neon – photos try to make it look neon, and it certainly is bright, but it’s not actually neon.

4.8.16 Fancy Finger Guns around bottle

I named this polish “tricky” because every time I tried to slightly edit a photo to make the green match how it looks in real life, it got pushed over the edge to looking neon. It was very frustrating for me, because I hate when I can’t show polishes’ true colors in photos. I also tried to take photos on a more fun background, but when I did that, my skin looked super dead because of how bright Treble Maker is, and Treble Maker got super blown out if I tried to tweak the color at all, and ugh everything about photographing this was so annoying!

4.8.16 Fancy Finger Guns diagonal

Aside from photography issues, oh man, do I love this color! I wanted to add a little something extra, so I swiped some of American Apparel’s Galaxy, a chunky rainbow glitter in a clear base, onto a piece of paper, then picked out pieces one of one with my dotting tool to place them on my nails. This is my first American Apparel polish – I’ve only seen/heard raves about them from nail bloggers, but by the time I actually went into one to check the polishes out, I already had such a huge collection that nothing really stood out to me. I got Galaxy because I had popped into one with a friend and they were having a sale on polishes, and I knew I could use the glitter for nail art – and sure enough, I did!

Forgive my cuticles - I haven't been good about moisturizing them, sorry!

Forgive my cuticles – I haven’t been good about moisturizing them, sorry!

On another polish-related note…guys, I FINALLY got my Helmer built, and she is a thing of beauty!

I need to reorganize them again at some point – I mentioned previously that I tried to keep my polishes organized when packing for the move, but at a certain point I was just packing them willy-nilly so some stuff got mixed up – but it is SO NICE to not have them hidden away in shameful (yet cute) plastic shoeboxes, but all together in a nice little unit. I think I’m going to have to put some textured contact paper down so they don’t slide around, and I have to be SUPER careful when pulling the drawers out because it will totally fall out, but I’m so happy I finally have a polish Helmer! I feel like a real nail blogger now. :)

Leave a Reply

