A-England Wuthering Heights

Hi everyone! How’s your week going? Mine has been okay, except for the tragedy that has struck my nails – I rarely get breaks, but my middle finger on my left hand (the one I show in photos) had a weird chunk of nail broken off the tip, so I had to file it down, and now my pointer nail has the beginning of a break, and it’s REAL low, so I’m kind nervous because it’ll definitely hurt if it rips off. Sigh. My nails do grow pretty quickly, but I may not be able to post for a little while because these breaks are pretty bad. So today I’ve got the last mani I had on before The Break Attack: A-England’s Wuthering Heights.

4.14.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottle

This is from the A-England collection based on – obviously – Wuthering Heights, Emily Brontë’s book which took me three weeks to slog through in high school because I hated it so much. I feel like you’re either a WH fan or a Jane Eyre fan, and I am definitely more a Jane girl (although Mr. Rochester can suck it), although there was an article on the The Toast a while back (can’t find it now…?) framing WH as a horror story instead of the great love story it’s come to be known for, and it got me kinda has me wanting to read it again, keeping that different perspective in mind. Anyway, I really liked a lot of the polishes in the collection, and eventually snatched up two, Spirit of the Moors (a gorgeous cobalt with scattered holo I’ll wear son) and Wuthering Heights, named after the home of Cathy and Heathcliff.

4.14.16 Fancy Finger Guns diagonal

I wore this last year (with another A-England polish, Sleeping Palace), and I loved it just as much this time. The formula is great – most nails only needed one coat – and the color is a fantastic stormy lavender-gray that totally evokes the moody moors where the novel takes place. It has a weak, very scattered holographic shimmer – A-England’s trademark – so it’s difficult to see unless you’re in direct light, so it gives the polish a lovely depth. You can see the holo better in that previous post I linked to above; these photos I took on an overcast day, which seemed to match the mood of the polish.

Let's pretend we can't see how bad my cuticles still, are, k?

Let’s pretend we can’t see how bad my cuticles still, are, k?

I hope to be back with some fun new manis soon! If not, I might just do some favorites round ups or something, just to have content in the interim. As always, thank you so much for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

