Tropical Aqua and Lime

I used to love wearing two different nail colors on each hand – one color on my left, one color on my right. I realized the other day that I haven’t done that in forever, so I pulled out some of my brightest and happiest colors to do just that!

(Sorry my lighting is a little weird in these pics - I still don't have my lightbox yet (nowhere to put it right now) and I was rushing to take these pics before the sun totally went away, hence the blue tint.)

(Sorry my lighting is a little weird in these pics – I still don’t have my lightbox yet (nowhere to put it right now) and I was rushing to take these pics before the sun totally went away, hence the blue tint.)

Blue-Ming is the prettiest aqua blue, but the formula sucks (like most pastel neon colors). It also chips really quickly on me, but the color is to die. I used two of my dotting tools to make the curved line of dots – first I added a few bigger dots, then I filled in the rest of the space with smaller dots. I ended up wanting to add some gold, too, so I just put it over a few existing green dots.

4.30.16 Fancy Finger Guns left

The green polish featured here is from Lime Crime. I know it’s a terrible company, but I bought this polish, Pastelchio, and the purple, Lavendairy, years ago, before I really knew much about the company. Last year (or was it 2014?) was that awful incident where lots of people got their credit cards ripped off because Lime Crime didn’t want to put better security measures in effect (i.e. they were being cheap), and that’s when I found out about the whole host of other shitty practices Lime Crime had engaged in the past. I do have a few more products from them – a few eyeliners and a liquid lipstick – but again, I got them a few years ago before I knew of any issues, and I’m going to keep using them because I really like the formula and the colors, but I won’t be repurchasing (I believe China Glaze has colors that dupe both the green and purple that I own, anyway). Okay, rant over!

4.30.16 Fancy Finger Guns right

I really love the color combo of aqua, lime, and gold, and Honey Ryder is the perfect gold – not too yellow, not to champagne-y, and with just the right metallic sheen. It’s no secret that I love OPI’s texture polishes, and this is one of my favorites. I’m weird about golds, so the fact that this is my preferred hue AND it’s a texture? Yas, yas, yas!

4.30.16 Fancy Finger Guns both

I hope you liked this look! It was a lot of fun, and it got me some compliments, which is always nice. I haven’t been feeling very nail art-y lately, so I’m going to participate in a nail art challenge I found on Instagram in May to try to get me back into it, which means lots of posts this month! Thanks for reading, see you guys soon with my first challenge – A x

Leave a Reply

