May Nail Art Challenge #4: Coral!

Hello, friends! How was your weekend? I had a really fun one – a little too much fun, if I’m being honest, so I spent most of Sunday recovering ha. But today it’s a lovely, bright day and I have a blinding mani to share with you!

5.10.15 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

The fourth prompt of my nail art challenge was simply “coral,” and since that’s the color of one of my favorite nail polishes ever – China Glaze’s Surfin’ For Boys (SFB) – the polish I’d base the mani around was a no-brainer! I’ve used SFB a few times before on this blog, but seriously – if you don’t have it, you need it. It’s a blinding coral with pink shimmer that looks good on everyone and it’s just such a fun, summery color. I’ve given away about six bottles of SFB because everyone loves it, so it’s the perfect polish gift!

5.10.15 Fancy Finger Guns diagonal

I thought Orly’s Mirrorball would be a fun accent to go along with SFB, and thank goodness the sun came out so I could capture how awesome it is! Mirrorball is another polish I feel like everyone needs. It’s kind of an odd polish – it looks like it might be sheer, but it’s definitely too opaque to layer (it barely needs two coats), and it’s got both a linear holographic flare and small holographic glitter pieces mixed in – but it’s freaking gorgeous!

5.10.15 Fancy Finger Guns around bottle

I was thinking of using a silver to watermarble with on my pointer, but I wasn’t sure if any of my silvers were a) opaque enough, b) would react well in the water, so I used an old Sally Hansen black (Black Out, I think?). I haven’t attempted watermarbling in years, so I knew this would be a crap shoot, but it wasn’t actually too bad! At first my water was too cold, I think, because the polishes didn’t spread out, so I used slightly warm water and they spread out but then sort of separated? And then when I tried to make a design, it just sort of…swirled instead of giving me a nice, crisp design like this. Sigh. I actually like the design I ended up with, but dude – seriously, watermarbling is SO HARD. I don’t know how some people do it so easily!

This mani got me excited all over again for SFB, I’m thinking about putting it on my toes now that it’s officially sandal weather here in Nashville! Thanks for reading, and get ready, because the next nail art prompt is totally me (Halloween in May🎃👻🕸😍). See ya next time – A x

2 thoughts on “May Nail Art Challenge #4: Coral!

  1. Pingback: June Nail Art Challenge #5: Unicorn! | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: Fourth of July Mani! | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

