May Nail Art Challenge #6: Antique

Hi everyone! I was kinda stumped with what to do for this prompt, and I gotta admit, I didn’t love the outcome, so let’s make this short and sweet:

5.18.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

I was inspired by “shabby chic” type of faux antique items, like paint purposefully chipped or sanded over wood to look old as in this picture. I used the dry brush technique with Poole over Sand Tropez to get that sanded/chipped look.

5.18.16 Fancy Finger Guns curled

I really wish I had taken a photo before I put top coat on, because that totally ruined it – the top coat smoothed everything out and I didn’t realize that with both colors being so light, they would kind of blend together.

5.18.16 Fancy Finger Guns diagonal

Not a fan of this, although I do like the colors together – they’re very calming. Anyway, I realized I haven’t been posting stuff I’ve been doing since moving to Nashville – there’s not as many events and just…stuff constantly going on like there is in LA, but I’ve still been doing things, I just haven’t taken photos. But last weekend I went to the Tennessee Renaissance Faire, and I actually remembered to get pics!

Not gonna lie, we got off to a rocky start…it took 45 minutes to park, then another 45 or so in line for tickets, then since it was already so late, we got right in line for the bus to Castle Gwynn, another 20 or so minutes. When we finally got to the castle, there was a line around the back to get up to the top that was long as hell, so we basically turned right back around to take the bus back to the Ren Faire. But the faire itself was lovely – it was basically in the forest, which gave it a real Robin Hood feel that was cool. It was warm out but the canopy of trees kept it feeling nice and cool, which was a relief compared to how last year when we went to the California Ren Faire we practically passed out from the heat. A word of warning: get your tickets online for will call if you’re going to go! We for sure will do that to beat all the lines next year.

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

