June Nail Art Challenge #5: Unicorn!

Whoops, sorry, this should’ve gone up yesterday. Today’s theme is not really my jam, but it still came out pretty cute anyway!

6.19.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

I’ll be frank – I don’t like cutesy stuff, so a “unicorn” challenge was not really my cup of tea, but I decided to just lean into it and get all pink and sparkly! Bottoms Up has recently become my favorite pink – it’s an amazingly neon, bubblegum, ridiculous Barbie pink and I figured it would be perfect for a unicorn mani! Unfortunately, once I attempted to stamp over Bottoms Up, I had some real issues that made it take forever to get looking halfway decent. I used some Winstonia stamping plates to place a bunch of random stars on my middle finger, then the big unicorn on my ring finger.

6.19.16 Fancy Finger Guns curled

If you’re gonna do a unicorn mani, you might as well throw in some holo, right? I put my old buddy Mirrorball on my pinky, pointer, and ring fingers. The light was super weird outside so these pictures aren’t great, but I’ve used it before on this blog if you want to see how amazing and sparkly holo-y it is!

6.19.16 Fancy Finger Guns diagonal

Okay guys, I have discovered my new TV obsession, but because it’s British there’s only six episodes per season, so I’ve already watched the whole thing this past week and now I’m suffering withdrawals. :( The show is Peaky Blinders, and it’s awesome.


Peaky Blinders is apparently the UK’s first gangster TV show – it’s drawn comparisons to Boardwalk Empire (gangsters doing business with booze and race tracks in the 1920s), but I thought Boardwalk was boring as hell and never even got through half of the first season when it premiered, so I think the comparisons are pretty superficial. Anyway, this show is very cinematic, like all great TV shows in our recent Golden Age, and definitely has a style all of its own, one of which is using modern British rock songs from bands like The Kills, PJ Harvey, Arctic Monkeys, and of course, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds – whose awesome “Red Right Hand” provides the theme song. The show also never met a slow-mo scene set to music it didn’t like, but that’s part of the fun.
Seriously, some shots are really just gorgeous. via

Seriously, some shots are really just gorgeous. via


The show does get bloodier and more violent as it goes on, though, so be warned if you’re squeamish! Also, one word of (casting) warning: I read that Tom Hardy, my Mad Max: Fury Road love, “starred” in the second season, but he’s barely in it. Don’t get me wrong – he makes the most of his time, and his character is hilarious (much-needed humor, by the way, because it can be quite a dark show), but he’s not in it very much. That’s okay, though, because weirdo eye candy Cillian Murphy is in like, 90% of the show.
Also, all anyone does on this show (besides maim or murder) is smoke and drink. via

Also, all anyone does on this show (besides maim or murder) is smoke and drink. via


A few things I don’t totally love about the show: I will admit, besides matriarch Aunt Polly (who I love), the female characters can be a bit underdeveloped, but it definitely got better in the third season, and I’m hoping it will continue to improve. Also, the criminal plots get a bit ridiculously twisty and difficult to follow in the second and third seasons, but at this point I mostly just watch for the characters, anyway. There were also some strong Godfather-esque moments in season three, in particular (some very “Micheal Corleone behind a desk” imagery), but I think that’s kind of inevitable when you’re doing a show about a gangster family. And anyway, much like Boardwalk Empire, The Godfather never really held my attention the way Peaky Blinders does. I’m sure it’s partly that I’m such an Anglophile, but I just think that for all its darkness and violence, the characters and the show’s style (the smoky urban setting, the costumes, the music) make it really enjoyable. Definitely at least give it a try if you’re looking for a new show!
Love you, Aunt Pol! via

Love you, Aunt Pol! via

Thanks for reading my little fluffy unicorn/dark drama show mashup post today! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

