July Nail Art Challenge #1: Place You’d Love To Visit

Yup, I’m doing another nail art challenge month! I really enjoyed doing it for May and June, so I figure why stop now? It’s also a good way to get me posting regularly; left to my own devices, I’m lucky if I do once a week. I kinda can’t believe it’s already July, though. 2016 is flying by!

7.2.16 Fancy Finger Guns challenge

The first challenge is somewhere you’d love to visit, and I immediately knew I wanted to do Turkey – along with Greece and Morocco, it’s top of my list of places to visit! I decided that instead of doing a flag or something that I’d do a cultural object that’s been popping up in American fashion and design in the past few years – the evil eye.

7.2.16 Fancy Finger Guns curled

The evil eye amulet in Turkey, or Nazar Boncugu, is a blue “eye” bead that is said to ward off evil and bring luck to the wearer. Similar evil eye beads are common in Mediterranean, Southeast European, and North African countries – especially Greece, where almost everyone has some version in their home – and in the past few years the symbol has also become popular in Western Europe and the United States.

The blue dot on my ring finger makes me laugh - it's wonky and the black dot is off-center, so it looks like it's rolling its eye.

The blue dot on my ring finger makes me laugh – it’s wonky and the black dot is off-center, so it looks like it’s rolling its eye.

I wasn’t sure how this would turn out, but I really love it! I’m not usually a fan of a mostly neutral manicure, although it’s a look that’s becoming very popular in salons lately (whites, neutrals, or pale pinks with minimalist designs like one dot or stripe), but I think this looks really lovely and fresh in the sweltering summer heat. I did two coats of my favorite neutral, the creamy French vanilla My Vampire Is Buff, and after top coat was dry, I added a French manicure nail decal and painted on a white half moon using butter LONDON’s Cotton Buds. From there, I just did a blue dot in the center with a smaller black dot inside that for the eye. (I feel like I use turquoise too frequently on this blog, so I decided to just do the mid-tone blue instead of the cobalt/white/turquoise combo of the real evil eye beads.)

7.2.16 Fancy Finger Guns upside down

I’m pretty proud of myself for coming up with a more unique idea for this prompt, ha. It’s always nice to dream about traveling in the summer months; I think the heat makes us all a bit restless. Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you soon for the next prompt! – A x

Leave a Reply

