June Nail Art Challenge #2: Colors You Don’t Usually Wear

Today’s prompt and mani are all about one color, a color I have a weird bias against – red.

6.7.16 Fancy Finger Guns bottles

I don’t really gravitate towards red in general, although sometimes – usually in the fall or holiday time – I do like a nice wine/vampy or metallic red. But something about just a plain red creme polish I really don’t like – I remember getting super annoyed when I’d watch Parks & Rec because Leslie often had red nail polish, and I couldn’t stand it. I’m not quite sure what it is about it that presses my buttons – I guess maybe it just seems dated to me now? Like very ’80s or something (even though red nail polish has been around since I think the 1920s, and was one of the few nail polish colors until fairly recently, history-wise)? I even prefer a nude manicure to a red creme one, and I am definitely not an all-nude polish type of chick! Anyway, because of this, I almost never wear red in a mani unless it’s holiday time or 4th of July, so when I saw this prompt I knew immediately that I’d be doing something with red.

6.7.16 Fancy Finger Guns around bottle2

Another problem I have with red is what to pair with it – anything metallic seems Christmassy, as does any kind of green or white. I hate the red/pink pairing that fashion-y people are always trying to make a thing, and red + purple doesn’t really work for me, either, while red + yellow just looks like advertising colors (specifically, McDonald’s). For my taste, basically the only options left were gray or a blue that wasn’t cobalt (because then it gets into 4th of July territory), so I opted for a bright turquoise to make a pop-y combo. Then I chose to do a bubbly gradient of dots because I thought it would be a fun and peppy look to make me not hate seeing red on my nails!

Ugh freaking reds - I let this dry for 15 minutes, but it still streaked when I put on top coat :/

Ugh freaking reds – I let this dry for 15 minutes, but it still streaked when I put on top coat :/

Well, that seems like one big rant against red, ha! I’m pretty pleased with how this came out, though. Sometimes I wonder if the nail art that I do isn’t exciting or intricate enough to warrant a blog, but I think that in this age of super crazy nail art on Instagram and in famous salons that maybe there’s some merit to the kind that I do – I think maybe it’s nice to just show some cute or pretty looks that can be done with minimal tools and time. I see enough page views that makes me think this is true, so thank you for your support! Also, if you ever have any ideas of nail art or colors you’d like to see, leave a comment and I’ll do my best to feature it! As always, thank you so much for reading, and I’ll see you next time with a super fun prompt that I really loved – A x

Leave a comment